New Nonfiction at CA Library

Here are some of the latest nonfiction titles added to the New Books section at CA Library! Follow the link for more details and to check availability…

Added November 2nd…

Because I Was A Girl: True Stories For Girls of All Ages, edited by Melissa de la Cruz — A collection of true, personal stories from girls and women of all ages–about the barriers they’ve faced, the battles they’ve fought, and the dreams they’ve brought to life. “Thoughtful, encouraging, and honest, this compilation should inspire readers looking for guidance in charting the directions their own lives take” (Publishers Weekly).

Fire On The Track: Betty Robinson and the Triumph of Early Olympic Women by Roseanne Montillo — A group portrait of the female track stars who won gold at the Olympics — in 1928, 1932, and 1936 — breaking barriers for female athletes and overcoming personal odds. “A must-read, certain to inspire a new generation of athletes with its fascinating slice of Olympic and women’s sports history” (Booklist starred review).

Quakeland: On The Road To America’s Next Devastating Earthquake by Kathryn Miles — Miles descends into mines in the Northwest, dissects Mississippi levee engineering studies, uncovers the horrific risks of an earthquake in the Northeast, and interviews the seismologists, structural engineers, and emergency managers around the country who are addressing this ground-shaking threat. “A cautionary look at how changes to the Earth, both natural and human-made, are transforming the scientific field as well as what those changes might hold for cities and individuals” (Library Journal).

The Vietnam War: An Intimate History by Geoffrey C. Ward — The companion book to the PBS documentary series by Ken Burns and Lynn Novik. “A powerful work that adds value and insight to any collection. Fans of Burns and Ward will be awed by their mastery in creating an accurate, thorough historical narrative” (Library Journal).

Added in October…

#notyourprincess: Voices of Native American Women, edited by Lisa Charleyboy and Mary Beth Leatherdale — Whether looking back to a troubled past or welcoming a hopeful future, the powerful voices of Indigenous women across North America resound in this book through an eclectic collection of poems, essays, interviews, and art that combine to express the experience of being a Native woman. “A stunning anthology of creative writing and art-a love letter, indeed. All YA collections will want this” (School Library Journal).

The 57 Bus by Dashka Slater — Sasha and Richard were both high school students from Oakland, California — Sasha, a white teen, lived in the middle-class foothills and attended a small private school, while Richard, a black teen, lived in the crime-plagued flatlands and attended a large public one. One afternoon on the bus ride home from school, a single reckless act left Sasha severely burned, and Richard charged with two hate crimes and facing life imprisonment. “Slater artfully unfolds a complex and layered tale about two teens whose lives intersect with painful consequences. This work will spark discussions about identity, community, and what it means to achieve justice” (School Library Journal).

Bernie Sanders Guide To Political Revolution by Bernie Sanders — Independent congressman, presidential candidate and activist Bernie Sanders continues his fight against the imbalances in the nation’s status quo, and shows readers how to make a difference to effect the changes America–and the world–need to create a better tomorrow.

Fault Lines In The Constitution: The Framers, Their Fights and the Flaws That Affect Us Today by Cynthia and Sanford Levinson — The Levinsons take readers back to the creation of this historic document and discuss how contemporary problems were first introduced, and offer possible solutions. “Much food for thought on the application and relevance of many of the Constitution’s stipulations. Essential for class discussions, debate teams, and reports” (School Library Journal).

Now of Never! : 54th Massachusetts Infantry’s War To End Slavery by Ray Anthony Shepard — The riveting dual biography of two little-known but extraordinary men in Civil War history — George E. Stephens and James Henry Gooding. These Union soldiers served in the Massachusetts 54th Infantry, the well-known black regiment, and served as war correspondents who published eyewitness reports of the battlefields. “This well-researched volume is recommended for students who want to dig a little deeper into the history of the 54th Massachusetts” (Booklist).

Older Than Dirt: A Kinda-Sorta Biography of Earth by Don Brown & Dr. Mike Perfit — Almost 14.5 billion years ago, it all started with a BIG BANG and what began as a cloud of gas, dust, and rock eventually took shape and bloomed into a molten sphere. Battered by asteroid collisions, ice ages, and shifting tectonic plates, our fledgling planet finally pushed forth continents. Today, geological activity continues to sculpt the earth’s landscape, sometimes with terrible consequences for its inhabitants: earthquakes, volcanoes, and tsunamis. “Comics have always held a strong suit in high accessibility for young readers, and this could serve as a good beginning research source” (Booklist).

 

 

YA Novels For Adults

Young adult (or YA) books is one of the fastest-growing segments of the book publishing market — growth in YA book publishing far exceeds that for mainstream adult books (see “Young Adult and New Adult Book Market”).

One of the reasons for the high sales of YA books is the popularity of YA novels among readers outside of the genre’s main demographic (12 to 18-year-olds):

“By some market estimates, nearly 70% of all YA titles are purchased by adults between the ages of 18 and 64. Of course, some of those are parents but, assuming that the majority of actual young adults are old enough to make and do make their own book purchases, a lot of “non-young adults” are reading those teen books” (source).

Here is a great list compiled by Tara Sonin for the B&N Reads blog with her picks for great YA reads for adults:

“50 YA Novels Adults Will Love, Too”

Most are available at CA Library — check our catalog here!

New Nonfiction at CA Library

We have started receiving our new book shipments for the year and have been busy adding them to the New Books section of the library. Here are some notable titles on the nonfiction side…

Everyday Sexism by Laura Bates — “Collecting thousands of tales from women (and men) of abuse, catcalling, and sexism through social media, Bates has updated the 2015 British edition of this book to include more information about women in politics, on campus, and in the media. A must-have for high school libraries to fill their social justice and feminism collections” (School Library Journal).

Forensics: What Bugs, Burns, Prints, DNA, and More Tell Us About Crime by Val McDermid — Looking at famous murder cases, as well as investigations into the living – sexual assaults, missing persons, mistaken identity – McDermid lays bare the secrets of forensics from the courts of seventeenth-century Europe through Jack the Ripper to the cutting-edge science of the modern day. “This title will be relevant to readers with a general interest in forensic science/criminalistics, casual academics, true crime aficionados, and fans of McDermid’s other works” (Library Journal).

Geek Girl Rising: Inside The Sisterhood Shaking Up Tech by Heather Cabot and Samantha Walravens — Looks at several women who are making their way and becoming founders, tecnologists, and innovators in a male dominated world of technology. “This enlightening read reveals many problems embedded in start-up culture, but, more importantly, it is an invigorating call to action and testament to the wide-ranging successes of women in this field” (Booklist).

H Is For Hawk by Helen Macdonald — A record of a spiritual journey, and an unflinchingly honest account of Macdonald’s struggle with grief during the difficult process of a hawk’s taming and her own untaming. “In this profoundly inquiring and wholly enrapturing memoir, Macdonald exquisitely and unforgettably entwines misery and astonishment, elegy and natural history, human and hawk” (Booklist starred review).

Hamilton: The Revolution by Lin-Manuel Miranda and Jeremy McCarter — Includes libretto and photographs from the Hamilton: The Musical, as well as an account of the creation of the musical, from the composition of the first song of the show in 2009 to the opening night in 2015. “An uplifting, gorgeous, diverse, and emotional libretto that will be performed in high schools as soon as the rights are available, and a must-have for initiated and uninitiated alike” (School Library Journal).

Killing Reagan: The Violent Assault That Changed A Presidency by Bill O’Reilly and Martin Dugard — A page-turning account of the career of President Ronald Reagan that tells the vivid story of his rise to power — and the forces that conspired to bring him down.

Return of the King: Lebron James, the Cleveland Cavaliers, and the Greatest Comeback in NBA History by Brian Windhorst and Dave McMenamin — Relates the events surrounding the return of LeBron James to the Cleveland Cavaliers after four years of playing for the Miami Heat, discussing how the move was accomplished and the success it brought to both James and the Cavaliers. “[Windhorst and McMenamin] illustrate the highs and lows necessary to reach the level of a champion; [this] will be the basketball book to own in 2017” (Library Journal).

So Much I Want To Tell You: Letters To My Little Sister by Anna Akana — Actress, comedian and filmmaker Anna Akana opens up about her own struggles with poor self-esteem and reveals both the highs and lows of coming-of-age. “The perfect book for young women struggling to find their place in the world while remaining true to themselves as well as for those who have lost someone to suicide” (Booklist).

Thing Explainer: Complicated Stuff In Simple Words by Randall Munroe — The creator of the webcomic “xkcd” uses line drawings and just ten hundred common words to provide simple explanations for how things work, including microwaves, bridges, tectonic plates, the solar system, the periodic table, helicopters, and other essential concepts. “Brilliant…a wonderful guide for curious minds” (Bill Gates).

We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie — In this personal, eloquently-argued essay — adapted from her much-admired TEDx talk of the same name — Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie offers readers a unique definition of feminism for the twenty-first century, one rooted in inclusion and awareness. “An eloquent, stirring must-read for budding and reluctant feminists. This title would also work well as a discussion starter in debate and speech classes” (School Library Journal).