Long time, no see!

Well, as I approach the first anniversary of my last post on CALibrary Blogspot, I should take a moment to post an update to keep it from falling into obscurity. So, what’s new in the world of CA Library?

Let’s see what’s happening at the American Library Association Mid-Winter Meeting, going on right now in Philadelphia.

The 2008 Alex Awards were announced — these are ten adult books selected each year that have specific teen appeal. Rather than try to summarize them for you, I’ll let Amazon.com do the work. They are:

Most of these will be made available in the Academy Library by the end of the month. We also have most of the 2007 Alex Award winners for your reading enjoyment.

The Best Books for Young Adults and Quick Picks 2008 lists should be announced soon. Most of those titles are available in the Academy Library as well…I’ll post some highlights when I see the complete list.

Also, congratulations to Geraldine McCaughrean, author of the 2008 Michael L. Printz Award book The White Darkness. Do I have to say it’s available at the Academy Library? It is!!!

That took longer than I thought…I’ll post again later.

ECB

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *