YA Authors on Instagram

Since we started our Instagram page (@calibrary), we’ve been scouring the Interwebz for authors to follow, which isn’t always easy; with so many “unofficial” fan pages out there, it’s difficult to find the ones that are “official”.

That’s why I was delighted to discover YA Highway, a blog featuring “writers from different corners of the globe, united by our affinity for travel, costume parties, and writing and reading young adult fiction.” One of their posts from last year was just what I was looking for: an accurate list of YA Authors on Instagram. It was a big help!

I customized the list to include authors whose books we have in the CA Library collection — click on the author’s name to see which titles we have.

Laurie Halse Anderson – @halseanderson
Lenore Appelhans – @lenoreva
Jay Asher – @jayasher13
Brodi Ashton – @brodiashton

Robin Benway – @robinbenway
Coe Booth – @coebooth
Heather Brewer – @auntieheatherbrewer
Jessica Brody – @jessicabrody

Meg Cabot – @officialmegcabot
Ally Carter – @theallycarter
Crissa Chappell – @crissachappell
Tera Lynn Childs – @teralynnchilds
Cassandra Clare – @cassieclare1
Leah Clifford – @leahclifford
Liz Czukas – @lizczukas

James Dashner – @dashnerjames
Melissa de la Cruz – @authormelissadelacruz
Kimberly Derting – @kimberlyderting
Sarah Dessen – @sdessen
Debra Driza – @debradriza

Simone Elkeles – @simoneelkeles
Elizabeth Eulberg – @elizabetheulberg

Kami Garcia – @kamigarcia
John Green – @johngreenwritesbooks
Adele Griffin – @adelegriffin

Kristin Halbrook – @kristinhalbrook
Michelle Hodkin – @michellehodkin
Katherine Howe – @katherinebhowe
Kirsten Hubbard – @kirhubbard

Denise Jaden – @denisejadenauthor
Anna Jarzab – @ajarzab
Carrie Jones – @carriejonesbooks

Miranda Kenneally – @mirandakenneally
Jessica Khoury – @authorjess
Karsten Knight – @karstenknight

Melissa Landers – @melissalanders

Tahereh Mafi – @taherehmafi
Gretchen McNeil – @gretchen_mcneil
Richelle Mead – @reallyrichelle
Robin Mellom – @robinmellom
Sarah Mlynowski – @sarahmlynowski
Erin Morgenstern – @erinmorgenstern
Lauren Morrill – @laurenmorrill
Courtney Alison Moulton – @camoulton
Julie Murphy – @andimjulie

Kaleb Nation – @kalebnation
Alyson Noel – @alyson_noel
Elizabeth Norris – @liz_norris

Micol Ostow – @micolostow

Kathleen Peacock – @kathpeacock
Jackson Pearce – @jacksonpearce
Matt de la Pena – @mattdelapena
Mitali Perkins – @mitaliperkins
Amy Plum –
@amyplum

Cheryl Rainfield – @cherylrainfield
Ransom Riggs – @ransomriggs
Veronica Roth – @vrothbooks
Jess Rothenberg – @jessrothenberg
Jenn Rush – @jenn_rush

Kimberly Sabatini – @kimberlysabatini
Robyn Schneider – @robynschneider
Andrew Smith – @marburyjack
Jeri Smith-Ready – @jsmithready
Maggie Stiefvater – @maggie_stiefvater
Margaret Stohl – @margaret_stohl
Tamara Ireland Stone – @tamaraistone

Sarah Bennett Wealer – @sbennettwealer
Kasie West – @kasiewest
Kiersten White – @authorkierstenwhite
Daisy Whitney – @daisywhitney

Brenna Yovanoff – @brennayovanoff

Markus Zusak – @markuszusak

This is a work in progress; I will be updating the list as I discover new YA authors on Instagram whose books we have in the CA Library collection. If you have recommendations for authors we should follow, leave a comment below!

Book Sculptures and Instagram

* * * * *

We’ve added some snapshots of our latest book sculptures to the @calibrary Instagram page. When we discard books from the library collection, we offer them to Academy art students to use as raw materials for their book sculpture projects.

Wait, you didn’t know CA Library has an Instagram page? Now you do! Check it out (and follow us) at Instagram.com/calibrary.

 

When we discard books @calibrary, we offer them to art students to use as raw materials for #booksculpture projects.

A photo posted by Canandaigua Academy Library (@calibrary) on

An Open Letter From Judy Blume

This e-mail showed up in my inbox with the subject Are You There, Mr. Mayor? It’s Me, Judy Blume:

Dear Friend,

Librarians are my heroes.

I’ve said that before, and I’ll continue to say it, proudly and adamantly.

Librarians are the protectors of intellectual freedom. They are the defenders of books and imagination and thought. They are on the front lines, working every day to improve literacy, to close the digital divide, and to spark creativity in everyone who walks through their doors.

Despite this role, NYC libraries have been cut $65 million in annual operating funds since 2008. They are down hours and about 1,000 staff members. If that funding was restored to the City’s three library systems, the total budget for public libraries would be less than half of one percent of the total City budget. Seems like a no-brainer to me.

Take a moment. Literally just about 30 seconds. Tell Mayor de Blasio and the City Council that our libraries are worth more.

Additionally, library buildings themselves are not up to par. The City’s 217 branches need $1.4 billion worth of maintenance and renovations over 10 years. They leak. They are overcrowded. They don’t have enough outlets. Really? This is not acceptable.

As you probably know, I’ve never been one to accept the status quo. So join me in taking a stand. The City will release its executive budget soon — now’s our chance to go out and make it right.

Send your letter to Mayor de Blasio and the City Council. Tell them, my heroes need their help.

Thank you,

Judy Blume
Author

We’ve got a little window, right now, to fix serious problems with New York City’s libraries.

Tell Mayor de Blasio and the City Council that we must invest in libraries.

SIGN A LETTER >