Youth Media Awards 2023!

Awards season continues with the American Library Association Youth Media Awards!

Each year, ALA honors books, audiobooks, and other outstanding materials for children and teens. Selected by committees composed of librarians and other literature and media experts, the awards encourage original and creative work in the field of children’s and young adult literature and media.

The 2023 Youth Media Awards were announced Monday, January 30th at LibLearnX: The Library Learning Experience (LLX).

Here are some highlights (linked titles are in the CA Library collection):

Michael L. Printz Award

All my rage The Michael L. Printz Award is an award for a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature.

2023 Printz Award Winner: All My Rage by Sabaa Tahir (Get the eBook | Get the Audiobook)

2023 Printz Honor Books:

YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults

Victory. Stand! : raising my fist for justice The YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction honors the best nonfiction book published for young adults (ages 12-18).

2023 Excellence in YA Nonfiction Award Winner: Victory. Stand! Raising My Fist For Justice by Tommie Smith, Derrick Barnes and Dawud Anyabwile (Get the eBook)

2023 Excellence in YA Nonfiction Finalists:

Margaret A. Edwards Award

The Margaret A. Edwards Award, established in 1988, honors an author, as well as a specific body of his or her work, for significant and lasting contribution to young adult literature.

Jason Reynolds wins the 2023 Edwards Award for Ain’t Burned All The Bright, Long Way Down, Stamped: Racism, Antiracism and You, The Boy In The Black Suit, and other books available at CA Library. 

William C. Morris Award

The life and crimes of Hoodie Rosen The William C. Morris YA Debut Award honors a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens and celebrating impressive new voices in young adult literature.

The 2023 Morris Award winner is The Life and Crimes of Hoodie Rosen by Isaac Blum (Get the eBook | Get the Audiobook)

2023 Morris Award finalists:

Alex Awards

The Alex Awards are given to ten books written for adults that have special appeal to young adults, ages 12 through 18.

    • A Lady’s Guide to Fortune-Hunting by Sophie Irwin
    • Babel, Or the Necessity of Violence: An Arcane History of the Oxford Translators’ Revolution by R. F. Kuang
    • Chef’s Kiss by Jarrett Melendez
    • Daughter of the Moon Goddess by Sue Lynn Tan
    • I’m Glad My Mom Died by Jennette McCurdy
    • Solito: A Memoir by Javier Zamora
    • The High Desert: Black. Punk. Nowhere., written and illustrated by James Spooner
    • The Kaiju Preservation Society by John Scalzi
    • True Biz by Sara Nović
    • Wash Day Diaries by Jamila Rowser

Coretta Scott King Book Awards

The Coretta Scott King Book Awards are given annually to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values.

2023 Coretta Scott King (Author) Book Award: Freewater by Amina Luqman-Dawson.

2023 King Author Honor Books:

We deserve monuments 2023 Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Author Award: Jas Hammonds for We Deserve Monuments

  • 2023 Coretta Scott King – Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement: Dr. Claudette McLinn

Pura Belpré Award

The Pura Belpré Award is presented annually to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth.

Burn down, rise up 2023 Pura Belpré Young Adult Author Award Winner: Burn Down, Rise Up by Vincent Tirado (Get the Audiobook)

2023 Belpré Young Adult Author Honor Books:

Asian/Pacific American Award For Literature

Himawari House Asian/Pacific American Award For Literature honors and recognizes individual works about Asian/Pacific Americans and their heritage, based on literary and artistic merit.

2023 Asian/Pacific American Award Winner for Young Adult Literature is Himawari House by Harmony Becker

2023 Asian/Pacific American Honor Book for Young Adult Literature:

Sydney Taylor Book Award

The Sydney Taylor Book Award is presented annually to outstanding books for children and teens that authentically portray the Jewish experience.

2023 Sydney Taylor Gold Medal Book Award Winner for Young Adults is When The Angels Left The Old Country by Sacha Lamb.

Sydney Taylor Book Award Silver Medalists For Young Adults:

Schneider Family Book Award

The Schneider Family Book Awards honor an author or illustrator for a book that embodies an artistic expression of the disability experience for child and adolescent audiences.

The 2023 Schneider Award Winner for Teens is The Words We Keep by Erin Stewart (Get the eBook | Get the Audiobook)

2023 Schneider Honor Book (teens):

Stonewall Book Award – Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children’s & Young Adult Literature Award

Stonewall Book Award – Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children’s & Young Adult Literature Award is given annually to English-language works of exceptional merit for children or teens relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender experience.

2023 Stonewall Young Adult Literature Award winner is When The Angels Left The Old Country by Sacha Lamb

2023 Stonewall Honor Books:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *